Call: 01455 285 482

 

Testimonials for Robert McVey Joinery Services

In April 2017, Julie M said

Rob and Nathan recently completely transformed our old fashioned staircase into the contemporary oak and glass staircase we always wanted – thank you both! They are amazing carpenters, very professional and we would have no hesitation in recommending them. We knew they must be good when they were able to call on a number of previous customers who were happy to showcase their workmanship.


In September 2016, Phil T said

Rob and Nathan completed our oak staircase today and we are delighted. From start to finish Rob was highly professional and accommodated our design whilst pointing out and explaining improvements that have resulted in a finished article that exceeds our expectations. Nothing is too much trouble and the time taken to achieve a job as near perfect a possible is commendable. If you want tradesmen that are a pleasure to have in your home and will produce a job that is second to none, then look no further than Robert McVey Carpentry and Joinery Services. They are a pleasure to deal with. Phil and Sue, Burbage.


In September 2016, Nikki S said

Rob and Nathan have just recently refurbished our staircase and it looks absolutely fantastic! Many thanks for such a great job – Rob was very thorough in capturing our requirements and was also keen for us to see their workshop so that we could view some lovely samples of their work. We are really pleased with the outcome of how it looks and feel that once we have completed our redecoration, will transform the look of our hall/landing area – thank you Paul & Nikki Skinner


five star review

In June 2016, Joan W said

We had a staircase makeover, it is in the middle of the room, with glass sides it speaks volumes and is a testament to the high standard of workmanship by Rob and Nathan, so pleased with the result thanks so much Bob and Joan Walker


five star review

In May 2016, Ann F said

Rob produced a beautiful bespoke shelving unit for our therapy room. He took time to understand exactly what we needed and built the unit to fit exactly into the space we had, whilst also accommodating our very specific requirements for storage layout. The oak used is gorgeous, the quality is second to none and the unit was excellent value. We couldn’t be more pleased and would recommend Rob to anyone looking for carpentry and joinery of the very highest standard.


five star review

In March 2016, Andy M said

Well what can I say that hasn’t already been said, Rob and Nath are a first class team, they have transformed my staircase from a drab sad looking thing into what I consider to be a showroom piece of just sheer brilliance, couldn’t be happier with every single aspect of their work from design to finish. A massive big THANK YOU to you both. Andy, Eyres Monsell, Leicester


five star review

In March 2016, C & H J said

Rob and Nathan are magicians! They can turn a hazy idea into a real work of art. We wanted to renovate our stairs but had no idea as to what was required. Rob took us through the process and showed us his genius for turning a rather sad looking conventional staircase into a thing of practical beauty. He was happy to let us get stuck into some of the preparatory work so it became our project, as much as his. He showed us how to put a quality finish on the main elements and even shared his materials. During the transformation, which was amazing to watch, he was open to our ideas and engaged with us throughout, even making new parts from scratch and adding them to the design to make it unique. Thanks Rob n, Nate.


five star review

In December 2015, David G said

Rob came to put in a stair rail and was brilliant came on time work was first class very professional would highly recommend Rob for his workmanship.10 out of 10. five star


five star review

In August 2015, E C said

Robert made & fitted a bespoke oak staircase for us earlier this month. We found him to be very professional, tidy and friendly…we love our new stairs and would be delighted to recommend him. E Castle 22.8.15 Burbage.


five star review

In June 2015, Craig F said

When we recently moved into our new family home we wanted to replace the old staircase. After a quick search Rob came up and we made contact. Since that day we never looked back. What a legend! Rob invited us to his workshop to look at some samples and after a couple on site visits we set a date for the installation. The new staircase was installed and finished to an amazing standard and we are so pleased with the finished product – thank you..it transformed our house into a home


five star review

In December 2014, Terence S said

We have just had our staircase renovated by Rod and his son Nathan. The transformation of the hall stairs and landing was completed on time and at the quoted price. The workmanship and attention to detail was second to none. We would have no hesitation in recommending Rod and Nathan. Terry and Dee, Birstall, Leicester


five star review

In October 2014, Steve T said

We have just had Rob do our stairs and doors and have been extremely pleased with how he and his son carried out the work. From the minute Rob came through the door to quote for the work, through to the point of completion, we always felt Rob was the best person to do the job and that has proved to be correct. His work is great and we are so pleased with the final look ! I would certainly recommend them to anyone. 5 stars from me !


five star review

In May 2014, Ian G said

May 2014 and our kitchen has been installed on time, in budget and with a few difficulties solved by a very professional craftsman who listens to what you want. Robert and his son ticked all our boxes and i am sure they will do the same for you.


five star review

In February 2014, Debbie H said

Rob has a true love for wood and is a master carpenter. He is also a very nice chap and a delight to have working in the house. Highly recommended.


five star review

In December 2013, Priscilla M said

When we wanted to replace our 20 year-old kitchen, there was only one fitter we considered – Rob McVey. Rob had replaced all our internal doors several years ago so we were very pleased when he could fit this job into his busy diary. The kitchen was large and there were various obstacles to fit things around but because Rob is a master carpenter nothing fazed him; and the result.? a beautiful new kitchen with which we are delighted.Thank you so much Rob for another excellent piece of work.


five star review

In October 2013, David R said

We have just had a full staircase renovation completed by Robert. You are always sceptical when you have never used someone previously or seen their work before. We need not have worried as Robert was very professional in his work and I must add he is a top class joiner. I am delighted with the work completed and cannot recommend him highly enough.This is the first time I have ever left a review for anyone and I would have no problem in recommending Robert. Thanks Dave Rigby


five star review

In October 2013, Caroline H said

We have just said goodbye to Robert and Nathan after they completed our Stair Renovation. What can we say, totally and utterly bowled over by the fantastic craftsmanship and work they completed. The Stairs are now transformed to beautiful oak with a wrought iron spindle, totally beautiful. We cannot recommend them enough, they are professional, clean and carry out their work to a supremely high standard. Robert crafted a beautiful oak fascia to cover up a tangle of wires, which now looks beautiful. We would not hesitate to recommend Robert and Nathan, in fact what are you waiting for, give them a call and get a quote – you will not be disappointed. Well worth choosing the personal touch. Thank you so much πŸ™‚


five star review

In July 2013, Andrea F said

Robert is basically a fantastic craftsman. He has skilfully completed numerous projects around our house and we are thrilled with the quality and finish of his workmanship. He has recently designed, and fitted, a beautiful walnut and glass bar area in our kitchen/extension. Where there are difficult ares to work round, his experience speaks volumes. Roberts goes ‘out of his way’ to ensure his customer is happy with his work, his prices are very good, he is reliable, tidy and efficient and very trustworthy. Last but not least he is an absolute gentleman.


five star review

In May 2013, Tess L said

Rob came to talk to me a while ago about a new kitchen, I had an old boiler, uneven floors and definitely not the kind of kitchen you would like to spend any time in. The shape was quite awkward and needed very clever design to get round the problems. Sometime later I contacted Rob to do the work, he did more than help fit a new kitchen, he designed it, fitted the units and cut, waxed and created fantastic worktops that makes a good kitchen showroom standard. He recommended other tradesmen that I also needs including the tiler (thanks Ian) and the plasterer.  I couldn’t have done it without him, I trusted him and he proved to be trust-worthy and a craftsman. Thank you Rob.


five star review

In January 2013, Eddie R said

Rob is a very experienced Carpenter and joiner, he really knows his stuff and does a great job at a competitive price, highly recommended.


five star review

In December 2012, Yvonne G said

 

A big thank you to Rob for popping around and re-drilling my kitchen cupboard door. He hand made and fitted the whole kitchen a few years ago and its great, but this year when I replaced the washing machine the door hinges needed to be moved. Rob was good enough to call in measure up and re-drill the door for me and all in his busy season just before Christmas. Even better he did even charge me. Wonderful πŸ™‚ Thanks


five star review

In February 2012, Geoff W said

We needed a unit designed and made to fit a specific space and to accommodate a new sink for our downstairs cloak room. Rob came along and measured up, discussed our requirements and then produced and fitted a wonderful cupboard in Oak. The final result was far beyond our expectations, it looks absolutely fabulous and everyone comments about it when they visit our cloakroom. I would highly recommend Rob for any carpentry work but especially for bespoke jobs that others wouldn’t even tackle and certainly not at the price that Rob can do it!


five star review

In February 2012, Mark R said

Rob came to my business and altered three doors that were sticking, he turned up when he said he would did an excellent job and cleaned up after himself, I would really recommend anyone to use him and I definitely will again


five star review

In February 2012, Dan P said

Rob,you did a fantastic job on the kitchen cupboard door,we are over the moon with it. I have passed your details out at work.Many thanks,a great craftsmen and a top bloke too!


five star review

In December 2011, Ron J said

First met Rob when he installed laboratory units at our company – he did a first class job on time and on budget. When we purchased our new house in August we could not live with the 1960’s kitchen – we delayed our move by four weeks to have a new kitchen installed. Rob was our first port of call and arranged everything from design to install to a very tight deadline – he also provided very good advice on on all sorts of issues as we moved in – he works hard to very high standards and always arrives when he says he will. I cannot recommend him highly enough. In the weeks after the install, we had a couple of minor issues which he responded to immediately – one I texted on a Sunday lunchtime not expecting a response until the Monday but got a response by return. We will certainly be contacting him again as we update the rest of the house.


five star review

In November 2011, Jon B said

Rob has carried out various jobs around our house, both large and small. He is a true craftsman and all the work he has carried has been to a high standard, with an attention to detail. He has a friendly and helpful manner and his experience in the trade helped us make the right decisions when we were unsure. I would recommend Rob to anyone and we are currently planning the next job for him.


five star review

In May 2011, Craig T said

We have just had Rob Mcvey fit our new kitchen. We were on a tight budget so we decided to plan our own kitchen and source our own cabinets for Rob to fit for us. Rob came and checked over our plans to confirm that the layout would work before we went ahead and bought the cabinets. Now fitted, the kitchen looks amazing, we couldn’t be happier. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Rob to any of my friends or family, I know they’d be just as pleased as we are with the end result!


five star review

In April 2011, David H said

Carpenter – Rob McVey supplied and fitted my front door. I have a Victorian town house and had approached various firms to supply and fit a traditional door. Rob provided a fantastic service and advice on the most suitable doors to fit-in with the house type. Rob also quoted a very reasonable price and installed the door quickly and with excellent workmanship. Rob also supplied and fitted an internal door + finished off some traditional skirting board that I could not complete myself. Both my wife and I are so very impressed and would recommend Rob to any of our friends. Fantastic – thanks very much Rob.


five star review

In February 2011, David S said

Rob McVey was recommended to us by a friend and we have no hesitation in recommending Rob ourselves. He is reliable, hard working and very helpful. Before starting work on our kitchen he photographed the space and advised us on the style of kitchen which would benefit our needs and produced a picture of the finished design for our approval. He gave as much attention to the design detail, as a large company, who would have charged a much higher rate for the same work. Rob advised and gave us ideas of how to make use of the space in the small kitchen area without being ‘pushy’ and built us a kitchen to be proud of. Many thanks Rob for a job well done.


five star review

In January 2011, Michael D said

Rob McVey recently installed a new bathroom for us and did a brilliant job giving us exactly what we wanted, having his own workshop he was able to custom fit those finer details we wanted. We have also had some internal doors replaced at the same time; he will be soon working on our kitchen which is way over due for an upgrade. No hesitation recommending Rob McVey – Carpenter and Joiner, great tradesman.


five star review

In July 2010, Gary M said

We originally commissioned Robert to refurbish our 1970s staircase and replace the first floor bedroom and bathroom doors. Nine weeks later Rob has now, at our request, also replaced all the skirting boards and architraves in the house and installed new bi-folding doors, which we believe is the testament to his skill as a craftsman and our confidence in his ability to provide a first class job. We have no hesitation in recommending Robert McVey Carpentry and Joinery Services.


five star review

In May 2010, Priscilla M said

Rob McVey – carpenter and joiner changed all the doors in our house. He spent time helping find the supplier, negotiated a trade discount with suppliers of both the doors and the hardware. Fitting new doors to an old house was not an easy job but it was not a problem for Rob. We were so pleased with his work that we have since recommended Rob to friends and family. Rob will tackle anything and relishes a challenge! If you need anything from a new door hinge to a new staircase, kitchen or bespoke piece of furniture then I can only highly recommend Rob McVey without hesitation.


five star review

In April 2010, Rob A said

I haven’t come across anyone as passionate about wood as Rob McVey – Carpenter & Joiner. If you need something special or out of the ordinary doing he’s your man and if you’re unsure how to proceed with a job then he’ll find a way and complete it without difficulty. It’s always a pleasure to see someone take pride in their work and my mother in law is no push over to please but she was delighted with the carpentry work that Rob did for her! Thanks Rob.


five star review

In April 2010, Mrs J M Sephton said

I have recently used Rob McVey to install a new office suite in our home. It has made the spare bedroom into a stylish office which gives us much more space and therefore has made us a lot more organised. Rob is very skilled, professional and courteous and I have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone at all.


five star review

In April 2010, Carli O said

Rob made us a beautiful bespoke kitchen for an excellent price (a third of the price of comparable quotes). His attention to detail was superb and I would highly recommend him for any carpentry job. He’s also a lovely chap which is a bonus!!


five star review

In April 2010, Kevin D said

I employed Rob McVey Carpentry & Joinery to hang new doors and repair woodwork in an old c1935 house. He did an excellent job. Rob is clearly a first class tradesman and can help and advise with your practical problems. He is certainly my first port of call for any joinery work.


five star review

In April 2010, Roy L said

I have worked with rob professionally and have also had work done in my own home. Rob is a exceptional carpenter and I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone who needs a first class job doing and at a very competitive price. Roy Lee – Roy Lee Plumbing & Heating.


five star review

In April 2010, Gordon D said

A great craftsman who gutted our kitchen and rebuilt it. Rob has the useful knack of being able to make the best use of space and to plan the kitchen layout so everything is in the correct place to make it a pleasure to cook in. Rob is an outstanding tradesman who takes pride in producing a top class finished product. I have seen several of his finished kitchens and he does an outstanding job, whether it is a bespoke hand-made kitchen or an off the shelf one. Sandra and I have no hesitation in recommending Rob to anyone. Nice guy – a great tradesman.


five star review

In June 2009 Roy Lee Plumbing and Heating said

I have worked with Rob on a couple of jobs now, and all I can say is that Rob is the best carpenter and joiner that I have had the privilege to work with.

Fantastic guy, brilliant work, and has a wicked sense of humour. I would recommend him in a heartbeat.


five star review

In July 2008 Rob Abell said

Rob has a very well equipped workshop. You only have to look around it at what he is currently making to see the quality of his workmanship. He only did a very simple job for me (simple for him that is…) which was outstanding, impossible to see the join! Thanks Rob.


five star review

In April 2008 Priscilla Morris said

After deciding to replace all of my house’s interior doors to match the period style I approached Rob for a quotation. His connections meant that we got a very competitive price for the doors and his expertise as a carpenter and joiner ensured that they all fitted our irregular frames.I would highly recommend him for all your woodworking needs.


five star review

In April 2008 Luke Mulligan said

Rob has done a number of jobs for both the practice and me personally. The quality of the work has always been excellent and he turns up when he says he will!


For current testimonials CLICK here to visit our feature on the bestofhinckley

Testimonials

Rob has a very well equipped workshop. You only have to look around it at what he is currently making to see the quality of his workmanship. He only did a very simple job for me (simple for him that is…) which was outstanding, impossible to see the join! Thanks Rob.